Black Rifles New AR build

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
Got bored and decided to post pics of the goodies. This is what I have so far and comments and suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks

 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
:lol: That upgrade came with my new TV for christmas. In addition to being a gun nut I'm also somewhat a tech geek. :geek:
 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
The goodies from palmetto state armory along with my spikes upper








only issue I have is the handguard cap is real loose. Anybody know a quick fix?
 

fordnut

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
2,152
I am a little confused...I stay that way a lot...

In one picture it looks like you have the "F" style (or A2) and in another, you have a folder style sight...

Have you replaced the A2 sight mount with a fold down sight? If so, maybe you didn't move the folddown sight quite far enough. Some different sight manuf. don't make their sight to mil. specs, and so you may have to move the sight down another 1/4" and drill new holes.

If this is the case, that would tighten up your handguards...

Just a thought.
Steve
 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
Sorry for the confusion but the first pic with the A2 front sight was before I added the adams arms piston kit. Once I adjusted the piston block for the right spacing for the rod there's a very small gap between the piston block and the handguard cap.



Also sorry for starting thread in the wrong section and thanks for the move mods.
 

M16MANIAC

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
129
Are supposed to leave the cap on there or can you just take it off? That is a free float rail correct?
 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
I like it and I think its good quality but I have little experience since this is my first build. Only issue I have is jams when loading rounds. I went to atp a couple of weeks ago to shoot it for the first time and it jammed a lot. The guy at atp said I didn't lube it enough to cycle correctly, but when I got home I did a slow charge with one round and it seem to get stuck on the feed ramps. Any thoughts or suggestions.
 

fordnut

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
2,152
What Ammo you useing??? Also, might be a mag problem..Many times feed problems with an AR is the fault of the mags and not the rifle..

I would change to another brand of ammo and see if this helps. Also, try another mag or two...

AR's usually don't have feeding problems...

Steve
 

Schultz

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,580
fordnut said:
Ar's usuallle have feeding problems...

That's not exactly true however some ammo will give you problems. I have a spikes setup and have never had a feed problem but, I also have a setup with a DPMS lower and DelTon upper and it doesn't like soft point too much. I do agree with Steve tho try different ammo and maybe a mag or two.
 

Clicker

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
812
bigtigga01 said:
Only issue I have is jams when loading rounds. I went to atp a couple of weeks ago to shoot it for the first time and it jammed a lot. The guy at atp said I didn't lube it enough to cycle correctly, but when I got home I did a slow charge with one round and it seem to get stuck on the feed ramps. Any thoughts or suggestions.
First problem is you went to ATP. OK, OK I'll behave, everyone here knows I'm an ATP hater.

Seriously I'd look at the feed ramp. If the upper has the M4 style ramp cuts and the barrel doesn't this can cause a failure to feed.

Those piston guns are fun, hope you get the bugs worked out.
 

thebrasilian

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
1,433
I have a bushmaster m4-a1 and bought it brand new. It took me around 100 rounds for it to operate properly. It was very embarrissing at the range. Lots of jamming up front. It all depends on your gun. It is very reliable right now.
 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
When I got home last night I look over the items that yall suggested. The ammo is the cheap hotshoots 223 55 grain, magazine are from bravocompany with Magpul parts. I also have the spikes st2 buffer that came with the upper. I've only shot 40 rounds through it so far so ill keep it lubricated and see what happens after some more shooting. It just sucks to have to recharge it after every shot.
 

fordnut

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
2,152
I would sure like to look at your weapon...that is not right...I have had 4 Bushmasters, and they all have ran right out of the box...

If you don't mind me asking...where did you get the rifle???

If you want to, you can bring the rifle by me house and I will look at it...it must be something small...we might even get Clicker to stop by...He only lives a few blocks from me... I feel sure we could find the problem withoput even firing the gun...

If you want me to look at it, call me. I am home all the time...

Steve
209-2490
 

bigtigga01

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
56
That would be awesome. I'll give you a call this weekend if you don't mind and set something up. Thanks
 

fordnut

Active Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2009
Messages
2,152
I will be home about all weekend...

Just give me a call...

I ain't an expert, but, I did spend last night at Holiday Inn Express...LOL

Really. I am no expert, but, I do have 3 AR's right now...and have had a few before ...

Steve
 
Top